Paid can mean carried forward, not collected
A small Stripe invoice marked paid does not necessarily mean a card was charged. When the amount due is below the minimum chargeable amount, Stripe marks the invoice paid and moves the amount owed into the customer invoice balance as a debit. This documented behavior applies only to customers without a cash balance.[1] The operational question is therefore not just whether the invoice closed, but where its unpaid value went.
Keep three records separate: the invoice status, actual payment evidence, and the customer balance adjustment. This is an editorial reconciliation model, not an accounting standard or a claim that PayIn implements Stripe Billing.
Find the applicable minimum before diagnosing a failure
Stripe says the minimum depends on the payout bank account settlement currency. Its currency guide lists 0.50 USD; charges requiring conversion must meet the equivalent minimum in the settlement currency. Some payment methods have exceptions.[3] Do not install a universal fifty-cent rule across currencies or payment methods. Check the account configuration and amount actually due, rather than the advertised price alone.
A decision flow for support and engineering
- Retrieve the invoice in the correct account and environment. Record its customer, currency, status and the amount involved. Treat a missing payment reference as an investigation trigger, not automatic evidence of either failure or free service.
- Check whether the customer has a cash balance. Stripe excludes those customers from this debit roll-forward behavior and says a too-small invoice cannot be finalized with the cash balance.[1] Route that case to a separate finalization investigation.
- Inspect customer invoice balance history for an invoice_too_small transaction linked to the invoice. Stripe identifies this type as the small invoice amount debited to the balance and added to the next issued invoice.[1] Preserve that link in the support record.
- Follow the debit to the next eligible invoice. By default, balance applies to the next invoice finalized for that customer; the full debit balance applies, and the currencies must match.[1] Do not assume it waits for a particular subscription renewal.
- If the evidence does not match, stop this diagnosis. Credit-covered invoices, free subscriptions and invoices marked paid outside Stripe can also reach paid without a successful associated PaymentIntent.[2] Identify the actual reason before creating any adjustment or new charge.
An illustrative twenty-cent invoice
Assume an eligible USD card-billing configuration with a USD settlement account, no cash balance, no existing invoice balance and no other adjustments. An invoice owes 0.20 USD, below the documented 0.50 USD minimum.[3] Under the documented small-invoice rule it becomes paid while 0.20 USD is carried as a debit; positive invoice-balance values increase what the customer owes.[1]
If the next eligible invoice contains 10.00 USD of new charges, the illustrative amount due becomes 10.20 USD under default balance application. That arithmetic is not proof the later collection succeeds. Do not separately charge the original twenty cents while leaving its debit scheduled for later collection. If no later invoice exists, do not tell the customer that collection has already happened or promise a collection date.
Separate lifecycle notifications from cash reporting
Stripe documents invoice.
- Suggested customer wording: “This invoice is marked paid because the small amount was carried to your invoice balance; it was not collected in this step.” Use it only after checking the balance transaction.
- Do not generalize this to Checkout invoices created with invoice_creation enabled: Stripe says invoice balance does not apply to them.[1]
- Before release, test below-minimum, ordinary, credit-covered and cash-balance cases, plus a customer who never receives another invoice. These are proposed acceptance cases, not executed tests.
This is public-document research, retrieved September 22, 2026, not a live Stripe payment test. Source publication and update dates were not stated. Availability and thresholds require account-, currency- and payment-method-specific checks; no universal regional eligibility or accounting treatment is asserted.
Sources and dates
Official documentation supports technical behavior; community questions demonstrate qualitative demand only. Retrieved and checked on 2026-09-22. Retrieval is not publication. Unstated dates remain unknown. This is documentation research, not a live-account test, PayIn feature claim, or legal, tax or financial advice. Account eligibility and regional availability require separate confirmation.
- [1] Stripe: Customer invoice balance · Publication date not stated; update date not stated · Checked 2026-09-22.
- [2] Stripe: How invoicing works · Publication date not stated; update date not stated · Checked 2026-09-22.
- [3] Stripe: Supported currencies · Publication date not stated; update date not stated · Checked 2026-09-22.